Posted on: 22 December 2014Share
Do you like to ride your motorcycle in Florida? It is a great place to go riding. The weather is usually wonderful, and there is lots to see. From the woods to the beach, you'll see plenty of wonderful scenery on your motorcycle travels in this state. You should be aware of the motorcycle liability laws, though. Whether you're a state resident or a visitor, you will be subject to these laws if you are in an accident. It's always something to keep in mind, because no matter how careful you are, an accident is always a possibility when you go out on the road. Knowing these things about liability law will protect you.
1. Your Actions Matter More Than Your Fault in an Accident
Florida law looks down very poorly upon reckless motorcycle riders. This means that you could be held liable for an accident that wasn't your fault if you are proven to have been riding in an unsafe manner.
You may even find yourself on the receiving end of a lawsuit if you were riding recklessly. The person who was really at fault could sue you based on your riding style alone. So, be sure you're always riding safely and following all motorcycle traffic laws in Florida.
2. You Have to Carry Motorcycle Insurance
According to StateLaws.FindLaw.com, you must carry at least $10,000 in property damage liability and $10,000 in bodily injury liability insurance on your motorcycle in Florida. This will help pay any expenses if you cause an accident. It also protects you if someone else causes an accident on their own bike that damages your motorcycle and/or injures you.
You can get your motorcycle license suspended if you don't carry insurance. In some cases, your car driver's license may even be suspended, and you will be subjected to fines. Be sure to always carry the minimum amount of liability insurance on your motorcycle in Florida.
3. Comparative Fault Laws Rule Motorcycle Accidents in Florida
If you are involved in a motorcycle accident in Florida, the court will look at what percentage of the accident was your fault in determining a financial award. Of course, this only applies to situations where a personal injury attorney is involved in a civil lawsuit over the accident.
The amount of money you may be awarded will be reduced by how much of the accident was your fault. For example, if you would have normally received $100,000, but 20 percent of the accident was your fault, your award will only be $80,000.
Riding your motorcycle in Florida can be a great deal of fun. There are no helmet laws for people 21 years of age and older, so you can enjoy the sun without being too hot. This also makes riding country roads a lot more enjoyable. You can work on your tan while riding and having a lovely adventure.
Just make sure you know about the laws regarding motorcycle accidents before you rev up your engine. It will help you avoid a costly situation should an accident happen to you. Laws for motorcycles vary from state to state, so if you have any questions about your situation, make sure you talk to a local personal injury attorney, like Donald L Scales.